Uncategorized, Who I am

Celebrating a Triumph

  Often times you have to acknowledge where you’ve been to truly appreciate where you are. Today marks 5 years that I have gone without surgery. Doesn’t sound like a big deal? Well, let me tell you that it’s quite the accomplishment for me. My long running record could barely manage going a year without ER visits, admissions, and procedure/surgeries of different sorts. I jumped for joy if I made it 6 months to a year. Isn’t that sad? I took the breaks I could get even if I suffered off and on during that time period. I wouldn’t give in and go to the hospital for help until I absolutely couldn’t handle it any more. When you’ve spent any time being sick and  personally know the ins and outs of the process, you try to steer clear as long as you can get away with. It gets old. In my experience, there is no such thing as a “short stay”. The weeks turn into months. Although I have been in the hospital within my new 5 year stretch, things were able to be treated without going under the knife. I thank God for the biologic Entyvio and that it’s the first I’ve been on that works. I’ve never known what remission was like. 

  I still have other body parts that fail to do their jobs, but a win in one area is still a win! My Colostomy ( FRED) is hanging on and behaves most days. I’m on medications to stabilize the bouts of IBS ( Irritable Bowel Syndrome). My 5 year old Power Port is going strong. Due to my stance against having the port permanently removed, I will not be having my Tricuspid Valve replaced at this time. Recent test showed that my Thymus Gland/mass has shrunk and lit up less than on previous scans. The surgeon released me once I agreed to a follow-up MRI in a year to review the situation. If I discover at my upcoming Neurology appointment that I tested positive for Myasthenia Gravis and surgery is recommended, we will then regroup and come up with the most reasonable plan of action.   

Today I celebrate and thank God for how far He has brought me and for every battle that we’ve overcome. Don’t forget to recognize your triumphs, no matter the size. Take one day at a time and don’t give up. You won’t know how beautiful tomorrow will be until it comes. If it’s done nothing but rain on you, soak up every ounce of sun that is coming.

FB_IMG_1507079137555
October 3, 2012

19408

2 thoughts on “Celebrating a Triumph”

  1. Lacey you are and have always been an incredible person. You help so many in ways I’m sure you aren’t even aware of. God knew exactly what he was doing when he created you !!!!!! Angel here on earth…………………..love you Beautiful Young Lady…hugs n thank you for sharing n helping ever so many xoxoxoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment